The WSF High-Level Expert Groups provide international expertize in three key areas important for the Warsaw Security Forum programming: foreign policy, defence and democratic state resilience.

In 2023 the WSF High-Level Expert Groups work together in the realization of a research project entitled: “Central and Eastern Europe (CEE) as a New Center of Gravity: (Wartime) Reordering of Transatlantic Security

A selected group of 40 high-level international security experts and decision-makers form three working groups in each of the three thematic areas:

  • (Foreign Policy) Ensuring Better Regional Stability by Protecting a Rules-Based Order

  • (Defense) Europe at War. Strengthening European Defense Capabilities – the role of CEE

  • (State Resilience) Making CEE Societies Fit For an Age of Digital and Energy Security Disruptions

The work of the groups will be incorporated into the “2023 Warsaw Security Forum Annual Report”, as well as reflected in the programming of the conference. The group chairs and experts will have an opportunity to present the work findings at the conference scheduled for 3-4 October 2023.

Foreign Policy

Group Members:


Catherine Ashton

Global Fellow Woodrow Wilson Center, former EU High Representative, Vice President of the European Commission (2009-2014), United Kingdom


Hanna Hopko

Chairwoman, Democracy in Action: Zero Corruption Conference & Member of Parliament, Head of the Committee on Foreign Affairs (2014-2019), Ukraine


Paweł Kowal

Member of Parliament, Deputy Chair of Foreign Affairs Committee, Poland


Michał Szczerba

Member of Parliament, Acting President of NATO Parliamentary Assembly, Poland

Group Leader

Prof. Katarzyna PISARSKA, Chair, Warsaw Security Forum

Group Supervisor

Bartłomiej KOT, Program Director, Warsaw Security Forum

Leading Analyst

Dr Miłosz CORDES, Research Fellow, Casimir Pulaski Foundation


Group Members:


Ian Brzezinski

Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defence (2001-2005), USA


Andrew A. Michta

Director, Scowcroft Strategy Initiative & Senior Fellow, Atlantic Council, USA


General (R) David H. Petraeus

Director of the Central Intelligence Agency (2011-2012), Commander of the International Security Assistance Force (2010-2011), Commander of US Central Command (2008-2010), USA


Jamie Shea

Senior Fellow at Friends of Europe, Deputy Assistant Secretary General for Emerging Security Challenges, NATO (2010-2018), United Kingdom

Group Leader

Robert PSZCZEL, Senior Fellow, Casimir Pulaski Foundation

Group Supervisor

Tomasz SMURA, Member of the Board, Casimir Pulaski Foundation

Group Supervisor

Zbigniew PISARSKI, President Casimir Pulaski Foundation

Leading Analyst

Robert CZULDA, Research Fellow, Casimir Pulaski Foundation

Resilience: Energy & Climate

Group Members:


Artur Lorkowski

Director of the Energy Community Secretariat in Vienna, Austria


Märt Ots

Director of Estonian Accident Investigation Bureau, Estonia


Oleksii Riabchyn

Energy and EU Green deal Advisor to Deputy Prime-Minister for European and Euro-Atlantic Integration of Ukraine

Group Leader

Michał Kurtyka, Minister of Climate and Environment of Poland (2019-2021)

Group Supervisor

Sławomir Krenczyk, Member of the Board, Casimir Pulaski Foundation

Leading Analyst

Piotr PRZYBYŁO, Research Fellow, Casimir Pulaski Foundation

Resilience: Cybersecurity

Group Members:


Galina Antova

Co-founder, Chief Business Development Officer of Claroty, USA


Amy Hogan-Berney

General Manager, Associate General Counsel, Cybersecurity Policy and Protection, Microsoft


Grzegorz Małecki

Head, Foreign Intelligence Service (AW) (2015-2016), Director of Cybersecurity, Economy and Energy Programs, Casimir Pulaski Foundation, Poland


Mikael Tofvesson

Head of the Operations Department, Agency for Psychological Defense, Sweden


Victor Zhora

Deputy Chairman and Chief Digital Transformation Officer at the State Service of Special Communication and Information Protection of Ukraine

Group Leader

Dr. Bilyana LILLY, Researcher, the RAND Corporation, USA

Group Supervisor

Andrzej KOZŁOWSKI, Head of Research Office, Casimir Pulaski Foundation